Why doesn't the box fall off?

Hi. I’m new to JMonkey Engine and I’m trying to implement a simple game where the player can move a box in a simple platform.

The platform is declared as a RigidBodyControl with 0.0f mass. The box is also a RigidBodyControl with positive mass and I’m using the setPhysicsLocation method to move the box around. The problem is when I move the box outside the platform and it doesn’t fall off.

I tried to set the initial position of the box outside the platform and the box indeed fall off.

Any suggestion?

You seem to do something wrong, post your code. At any instance moving a box with setPhysicsLocation is like warping it around the space, to get proper physics behavior you need to move it with proper physics forces or set it to kinematic mode if you want to move it around while still affecting other objects properly.

Here’s the piece of code I use to move the box (r1 is the RigidBodyControl associated to the box):

[java]private AnalogListener analogListener = new AnalogListener() {

public void onAnalog(String name, float value, float tpf) {

if (name.equals(“Right”)) {

Vector3f v = r1.getPhysicsLocation();

r1.setPhysicsLocation(new Vector3f(v.x+valuespeed5, v.y, v.z));

}

}

};

[/java]

So, if I want to move the box should I apply a force to it? But how can I do that with an analog listener? If I keep pressing the same key the result of the forces will increase and the velocity too.

try [java]bulletAppState.getPhysicsSpace().enableDebug(assetManager);[/java] to see the collision shapes, perhaps something is not right

I tried that but I couldn’t see any problem.

do you set the gravity at any point?

Yes, at the beginning when I declare a new BulletAppState. As I said, if I set the initial position of the box outside the platform, it falls off.

For test purposes if I throw something at the box, when outside the platform, it also falls off.

What’s the best way to move the box? Should I use a RigidBodyControl?