WIP: STUFF – the game. Contest Entry

I know, amazing name, hopefully it’ll get a new name till the end of the contest :V

This is a project that I’ve planned on doing for some time but hadn’t started because I’m still learning the ropes of jmonkey but I’ll take this opportunity to get some additional motivation to get working on it full steam.

the basic idea is Viewtiful Joe meets Metal Slug, though a very simplified version to actually get something done in time for the contest.

it’s going to have 3D environments but move in 2D along a path (can MotionPaths be used for this? i haven’t messed with them yet).

Here’s some videos to get an idea

www.youtube.com/watch?v=ALt4yu1Njk8

www.youtube.com/watch?v=q8mK8gGa7sg

hopefully I’ll manage to make some different attacks and a power up or two in time for the contest (I’d like to get a boss in there too but it’s probably already too much :smiley: )

1 Like

Btw I loved the name, it’s original “STUFF” :smiley:

Hehe yeah, all the best with this project :slight_smile: About stuff: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MvgN5gCuLac :wink:

Watching that, it occurs to me that 90% of MMORPGs is all about “stuff”.

Good luck man! If you need any help regarding the rules, just ask.

i get the same reaction every time i show someone the name of the game :smiley:

I’ve started working on the “background” code for the game and have set a basic nifty interface, in a couple of days i should start working on something more visible and post some screenshots.

i would like to have my character walk in a specific path, like it was on rails but be allowed to jump and move in the air, what would be a good way to achieve that? I’ve read the MothionPath page but haven’t tested to see if it would allow the behavior i want