World Unit confusion

I'm new to game design theory so a few small things confuse me. If someone could help me understand world units I'd appreciate it:

If I design a model in some CAD program to be a 12"x12"x12" cube, then load this at scale into the game engine, how many "world units" is that? I realize everything in the game engine is relative and can be scaled, but I'm working on a real-world simulation environment which includes maps and models based on actual objects and places and need to relate movement across the map as actual GPS coordinates.

After working my way through the first few JME3 tutorials, I'm having similar feelings. Why is it that, when I move an object up by 1.0f, this constitues 2 world units? Wouldn't it be more intuitive is a translation of 1 constituted 1 world unit? Having a translation of 1 constitute 2 world units seems a bit weird to me at least. In the end, once you know this you can work with it. But for people new to JME it feels weird.

Trust me ractoc, nobody defined anything in the engine like WORLDUNIT = 2 or something.

People seem to ask this question a lot, about what units does the engine operates is, the answer is, in whatever unit you want. You can decide for example that 1 unit in the engine is a meter, then model everything in your modelling tool so its in meters.

If you create a 12" cube in your modelling tool then it should be a 12" cube in the engine, simple as that.

There are however some exporters which scale the model upon export, this is incorrect and really there should be an option to disable that.

Ok, that explains a lot. Just weird to have that world unit = 2 in the turorials then.

See the part "understanding the code" in the "Getting Started with JME3 (2) - Hello Node" tutorial. In there there are multiple references of 1 unit being refered to as 2 world units.

If the world units are something everyone can define for themselves for their own game, these references should perhaps be altered?