Xbox One and PS4 games with JMonkey

Hello:

I’ll be developing support for Xbox One and PS4 game development for JMonkey. I already did the research and it should be easy.

I got to go to school now, but feel free to comment on this.

What do you think of it? Is it great news for you?

I’ll get back to this thread when I come back.

Bye!

1 Like

Well its of course great news, especially considering that both slowly start to open up to indies. Larger potential market is always good. (Also it would kinda proof the write once debu… erm run everywhere ^)

I’ll be thrilled to play a JME game on PS4!
Care to elaborate on the “should be easy” part though? What is the plan?

@nehon I don’t have a plan right now. I just realized today that I’m a mature enough coder that I can pull this off, and wanted to share the news.

Yes, I know what you mean by plan. I should have a plan within the next few weeks. I’ll ask around here, and then tell you when I have a plan.

But first let’s just enjoy the fact that Jmonkey will support XBoxOne and Ps4 natively. :slight_smile:

So what did you research? How to get JOGL or LWJGL to compile on PS4 or how to write a native JNI OpenGLES wrapper?

Hm, well, i bet it’s not an easy walk at all.

Some points:

1. Maybe the hardest: Get a PS4 dev kit. :wink:
  2. Maybe the easiest: Get a XB1.
  3. Something between: Extend Jogls Newt kit, make a JVM running, make a headless openjdk running, depending on the gpu driver flexibility you might need to use some kind of opengl-> directx wrapper, or write a completely new renderer for each of the consoles.

If Sony and Microsoft don’t make a step towards adding java support i think this is going to be a huge task. Might be easier to write an MMO :wink:

2 Likes

I’d favor a native GLES renderer, that could also be used on iOS. Or gut out JOGL so much that we don’t depend on their build process.