Yet One more Minecraft Clone!

Hello All,

First up, I hope I’m posting this in correct location - sorry it not :).

I’m very new to JMonkey and relatively new to Java, but I’ve certainly been having a very enjoyable time playing with it over the last couple of weeks.

Now currently, as a place to start - and as is seems to be bit of fad, I’ve decided to try and work on basic Minecraft clone. I’ve mainly done this, because its a place to start and it covers topics I’m relatively interested in.

So, so far - I’ve manged to make an abstract box manager, that manages a number of boxes in a sector of a defined size. I can then produce a number of sectors to build the world.

Currently, this manger can sort through the data and determine, very crudely which boxes are blocking other boxes, so when they are drawn, only the outer boxes are visible.

At the moment, I’m currently drawing the boxes by preparing and rotating quads for each cube, and then attaching them to a node for a given sector.

So with the background out the way, here are my first few early questions:

Currently, with around 15000 triangles on screen, drawn in wireframe mode, my performance is pritty poor (10fps on averagely good laptop). Should I be expecting to be able to draw more triangles? Would it be faster if each sector was made out of a custom mesh?

Being a Minecraft clone, the mesh would need to be dynamic, what would be the best way to approach this? I feel that regenerating a sector might be too slow?

Last one, should I be attempting LOD the sectors, i.e. collapsing the faces along adjacent lines of blocks, or would this manipulation of the mesh in real time make it even slower?

Any help and advice would be much appreciated.

gandalf said: