A question about Boxes

I was toying around with some lights, and created a Box. Then, I noticed something ‘strange’ in the stats.

The vertex count increased by 24. Now, if I understand correctly, this is how the vertex count is done:

3 X the number of triangles in a model X the number of lights in the scene.

Now, a box has 12 triangles, so shouldn’t the count have been increased by 36?

I am no expert in JME, but - depending on your code - the other 12 vertices are probably being culled (since there are 12 vertices hidden behind the box) and therefore not drawn, therefore being excluded from the vertex count. If you move the camera around the box, you may see a small variation in the vertex count.

But if I import my own model, the ‘correct’ vertex count is shown. For example, I imported a model with 414 triangles, and the resulting increase was of 1242. Thanks anyway :slight_smile:

PS I also tried setting the CullMode to Never, although I’m not sure that’s the same thing, however the increase stayed at 24.

There are 4 vertices per face, 6 faces, 6 x 4 = 24

2 Likes

Remember that each side of the box is made from 2 triangles but those triangles share 2 vertexes each.

If the box was smooth-shaded you would only have 8 vertexes total.

Thanks wezrule. But why isn’t a box made of triangles? Whenever I import a model, all quads change into triangles. Also, when I set it to Wireframe, it was made up of triangles, which gives it 15 faces, no? Or is the box ‘special’ in any way?

@zarch, same thing with models though. They share a lot of vertices, but in the end, the calculation I use (and has been correct for all models except boxes) is 3 X number of triangles.

It is made up of triangles. But there are still 4 vertices per face.

Your calculation is only correct if you have a flat shaded model with no contiguous coplanar surfaces.