Adding nightly builds to engine?

I think it might be a good idea to add snapshot (also known as nightly or early access) builds to the engine. So by every commit into the master branch, it can build and publish snapshot artifacts to either the GitHub package or maven.

So for example when some user reports a bug and we fix it and require the user to test out the fix they won’t need to clone and build the engine themselves or wait for the next release. IMO this could be a great help to the development team.

Any thought?

Also anyone willing to help with this?

8 Likes

This is a great idea!

I am willing to help but I will be out of town for the last part of March.
I will be available in April if I can do anything then.

I am very new to this platform so I might have a steep learning curve but I am willing to learn.

1 Like

Cool,

Currently our GitHub workflow script does already build the engine on every commit to the master branch. I think we just need to find out how to publish these artifacts to GitHub packages :slightly_smiling_face:

Back in 2020 they were on jitpack, are those no longer valid/updated?

Idk, but does jitpack instantly build the snapshot? I thought it takes days/weeks?

Iirc when I used it in the past is was always up to date. I believe it just uses the results from the GitHub actions. Your latest commit is there.

1 Like

As you mentioned in your post, it has a different group id because they are not official releases. I think if we can make this work with Github packages or maven snapshots (like lwjgl3 does) it would be better.

1 Like

I agree. I just bring it up because they are immediately available until a better solution is built. When I was doing heavy JME work I almost exclusively used the snapshots since we went so long between releases

2 Likes

Lwjgl3 is open source so we should be able to find out how they are doing it.