Building and Developing using Git Master Branch: New to JMonkey

Hello all,

I’ve been lurking on the JMonkey forum for a few months and reading the documentation to familiarize myself with the platform in my spare-time. I’ve purchased a number of books on JMonkey and Blender and have been reading through those (and these forums and wikis) . I’m now at the point where I feel comfortable moving forward with beginning development. I am completely new to game creation (especially 3-D game creation), but, I am an experienced software developer with fairly significant Java experience and expertise.

I’m on “vacation” for the next week and a half, and I am attempting to get up to speed on development with JMonkey during that time. I want to get a project and work-flow established so I can then continue working a few hours here and there each day/weekend once my vacation ends.

To that end, I’ve decided to follow this path:

1. Clone & Build the latest JMonkey version from GitHub (Master Branch)
  2. Install the built SDK
  3. Use the built (JMonkey 3.1 - Master Branch) SDK for my development and learning while providing feed-back for encountered bugs in the 3.1 Master Branch (to the Forum I am assuming)
  4. Work through the tutorials and documentation (with clarification from the Forums and/or books I’ve purchased as necessary) available here: http://wiki.jmonkeyengine.org/doku.php/jme3
  5. Submit bug reports and/or forum posts for issues I encounter with the 3.1 master branch release
  6. Once I’ve worked through all the tutorials and worked out the discrepancies (and documented them on Forum posts or wherever else is appropriate) for the 3.1 version - I will then begin development of my own game