Building JMonkeyEngine with Ogre3D

Heya Peeps!
Yes I’m a newbie… but I’m not a Novice.
Okies… just as the Subject indicates, I have a specific question… Has anyone tried building JMonkey from Source with Ogre3D ?

I am giving some serious consideration to this as the foundation for my Thesis Project. I have two rules; all software must be open source with some variant of the Creative Commons License… AND… all software must be Linux Compatible / Linux Based. That’s it… short and sweet.

What is my Thesis Project? Well, I’m glad you asked…

Kebec1661 is being designed to be an MMORPG, which utilizes Open Source Software, that is fully integrated into an easily deployed software development package as a 3D Virtual Reality.

So, with no further hesitation on my part, feel free to offer your suggestions, comments, wisdom as to if anyone has attempted to do this previously? Thank you in Advance for your generously provided input.

My Website : Kebec1661

Can you explain what you mean by this question? I’ve tried to make sense of it a few different ways but I can’t.

It reads like:
“Has anyone ever tried building Oranges from Fruit using Apples?”

well… I thought my question was fairly simple… perhaps a few more details would be in order so it is not as vague.

I would like to compile - from source - a project that uses the JMonkeyEngine with OGRE3D to render the graphics.

I don’t think that makes any sense, because jMonkeyEngine and Ogre3D both exist to render graphics. If you use one, you cannot use the other.

As already mentioned, this doesn’t really make sense… but I don’t even understand why you’d want to. A lot f work for no real gain.

well… as stated on the Introduction Page… JMonkeyEngine is an “open source game engine, made especially for Java game developers who want to create 3D games using modern technology”

… While Ogre3D is only a Graphics Rendering Engine…

So, perhaps a better question to ask at this point… what does JMonkey use as its Graphics Engine?