Difference between java and c++ in games

Hey! I’m new to programming and am very eager to make a game in the future.
Have therefore looked around on the internet and found some candidates when it comes to game engines and programming languages.

But I have some questions and I wonder if you might have time to answer them.

Is there a big difference between programming a game in java compared to c ++ and if so, what are the pros and cons?

And what are the pros and cons of jmonkeyengine when it comes to developing a game compared to other game engines out there?

I understand that jmonkeyengine is an open-source project and does not have the same resources compared to unity or unreal engine. But thought if there are any advantages jmonkey has over them because of the fact that jmonkey is written in java and not those general languages usally used to make game engines.

2 Likes

language dont matter much. its just about what language you like (well even in JME you can programm in C via JNI/etc, anyway OpenGL / physics / navmesh libs in JME are in C)

while unity is almost like “click everything”, jmonkey is almost like “code everything”.

JME is free and open source, while Unity is partially closed source and need pay taxes if you earn too much. I think this is main reason except if you like Java to use JME.

ofc JME cant have as good quality tools/premade assets like Unity(it would be many things to tell, like pipeline for example is better in Unity), but if you are skilled developer / artist(or just buy models from external sites) you can do everything you want.
I would say you got 100% coding freedom here. (but this sadly require knowledge/skill from you)

Everything have advantages and disadvantages, but i seen Unity users were angry recently when they made more code closed-source. I think this is main disadvantage of popular Unity.(except taxes and coding way ofc))

1 Like