Graphic Capacities of jME?

I am new to jME and game programming in general and I am just curious about what kind of quality level you can achieve with the jME and what techniques are required for that?

Something similiar to this:

1 Like

For such graphics you just need the models and shaders.

Then you will also want to use techniques that optimize the rendering. Such as, using Lod control for distant trees, or swapping distant trees with billboards.

For clouds there are various techniques that can be used. Either render a picture of a cloud or you can do the more complex volumetric cloud rendering.

2 Likes

It depends mostly on your models and textures quality.

Without skilled graphic designers and proper software you will make a crap even if you have top AAA game engine.

Here you can see what JME is able to do:

5 Likes

If you have the assets yes you can do something like this in jME.
But the quality of a game mostly depends on the team skills rather than on the engine.

2 Likes

Sorry if this is even more off topic but how to create such assets?

1 Like

You can download and use a free opensource program called Blender for 3d modeling and animating. It’s important to note that you have to do a few more things to export the models so they’re compatible with JME and look good in the engine.

There’s a lot of information about doing so in the tutorials to help you out when the time comes, and you could also find some tutorial videos that show how to model and prepare a JME compatible model.

https://jmonkeyengine.github.io/wiki/jme3/external/blender.html

2 Likes

Sorry to be that guy, but you’re heading into a steep learning curve and time sink if you’re new to game programming (you should at least have a rather strong programming/java background, so good knowledge about OOP, Java Interfaces, floating points (e.g. why equals checks fail pretty often)) AND Art, you have much work to do.