How can I make my game... A game?

Hello Folks,

I have been working on my “game”, PlaneStorm, for about four months now. At the moment, I basically have a game that is the following:

• A plane spawns on a runway
  • The plane can take off
  • The plane can fly around a terrain
  • The plane can destroy airfields of the enemy team.
  • The player can view other planes of other players online.
  • The player can shoot down other planes (if on the enemy team).

Anndddd… That’s it.

The terrain is practically done at this point. It is good enough for an early alpha.

Things like movement, maps, etc, are also basically complete. I can fly over hills, land my plane, crash my plane, sink in the water, etc.

However, in it’s current state, the game is just not… Fun.

I would like a game that I could goof around on for an hour or so, completing this or that, or killing this, or doing something fun. As it is though, you just fly around a map and that’s it.

For a start, there are several “Issues”.

• No other players online, meaning there is nothing to fight.
  • Defeating the objective (the enemy airfields) is not fun.

And I always get the same sort of common “suggestions”, such as:

• Why don’t you add missions?
  • Why don’t you add computer-controlled opponents?

The problems with these are obvious. Both missions and computer-controlled opponents sound extremely boring, and do not make a game by their own.

The point I’m trying to make, is I need:

1. An opponent for the player to fight.
  2. An opponent that is challenging and fun to fight.
  3. An objective for the game that is fun and rewarding.

But I just can’t think of anything.

The truth is, I programmed with Java and LWJGL for four years so obsessively about graphics that I have actually forgotten how to make a game.

So I’m effectively asking a broad question:
What can I do to make this game fun and entertaining?