Need some help implementing something for a halo effect around lights

So take a look at this screenshot from a released game: https://am23.mediaite.com/tms/cnt/uploads/2019/07/blair-witch-game-captures-the-terror-of-the-original.jpg

I would like to implement the halo/foggy effect around lights similar to the effect you see on the above screenshot. I thought about writing a post filter for this but I’m not sure it’s suitable for that and if it is I’m not that good with shaders so a bit uncertain on how I should accomplish this. What other options do I have?

Thanks!

Hmmm, perhaps some sort of bloom lighting? There are a couple implementations floating around, including one built into the engine.

Yeah, bloom will get you pretty close.

…might need to combine it with a particle effect.

I’m already using the bloom post filter but that doesn’t seem to have any effect at the position of the light. It does affect where the light is shining but I want a halo effect on the light itself. So I might try to combine it with a particle effect. Is that a particle effect with no moving particles and just a soft texture? Or what would work best here?

From a distance you could get away with a billboarded quad. But if you want some shape as you move around, I think some kind of static particle effect could work… some kind of light smoky particles with BlendMode.AlphaAdd so that sorting doesn’t matter.

Edit: and if the “source” of your light isn’t “blooming” then that’s because there is no geometry representing the source of your light. Add a shape where the light is to represent the bulb… make it super bright white… and bloom will get you pretty close already.

Hmm, well here is how it looks. The lamps at the ceiling should have the halo effect but nothing is there:

The source of the light is directly under those lamps

3 Likes

The texture of the light is already emissive but can it be that I also need a glowmap for them? Not sure how to set that up in blender though