Oracle gave it the big FU, now what?

I think Netbeans will drop to the wayside in popularity pretty quickly so now what?

Time to integrate with Eclipse? or go full bore with JMB?

I’m personally looking at other options now myself because Apache will most likely turn this into something the general population will not even bother with.

IntelliJ Community Editon with jMB :wink:

3 Likes

Hello @mitm,

I am new to jME, downloaded it for the first time yesterday and just registered on this forum with intention of starting a post regarding an issue I was having with NetBeans while following the tutorial.

I was just wondering what your are referring to? Is Oracle dropping support for NetBeans now? I was unable to find anything which may bring clarity to your post.

• Kirk
1 Like

Yes. They dumped it off on Apache and they will most likely make it so confusing no one will even touch it.

They don’t even have an installer yet so it may be Java 10 or later before they even catch up. Not their fault but most likely NetBeans is going to drop in popularity quite fast from here on.

Edit:
Apache doesn’t even have Netbeans listed yet… This article sums it up nicely though.

2 Likes

I’m not very impressed with intellij to tell the truth. Their website doesn’t even work with IE so I cant explore their plugins.

:open_mouth::open_mouth::open_mouth::open_mouth::open_mouth::open_mouth:
I think IE is the most terrible browser in the world :slight_smile:

You need to explore plugins inside the IDE :wink:
https://imgur.com/a/v1Kt0

1 Like

I understand people don’t like IE but I don’t want anything google on my system and browsers are just not worth the additional headache or disk space.

I have the agree here, I have to use it daily as an Android Developer and I think it’s ugly and slow to work with.

I think FireFox is better option for you :wink:

4 Likes

Will JMB work with eclipse?