(September 2016) Monthly WIP screenshot thread

Kicking off this month’s thread with a screenshot of a new game I’m working on:

16 Likes

Alright, then I’ll continue with my spaceship collection, all built using the app:

The right one is not finished yet and some got deleted because development but yeah, the app works quite fine now :slight_smile:

14 Likes

I’m an old java application developer trying some game/3d code for the first time. Put together this random/infinite Martian terrain with physics balls type thing over the weekend. Mostly combined and refactored tutorial code. Had a blast creating it. Spent an inordinate amount of time tweaking the character movement to get it feeling natural. (no cliff climbing or trick-jumping into the ionosphere) . Next weekend I plan to add some random rocks and if I’m feeling adventurous, some kind of shadows (dust storm would be great!). Kudos to the JME devs for allowing me to have some fun with my primary language :smiley:

21 Likes

Feeling a little left out again for not having anything fun to show like you guys. :slight_smile:

I’ve been working on Lemur over this long weekend adding basic key/joystick navigation.

In the mean time, I tweaked the stats display in the SimEthereal example. Here is a sample screen with the JME frame profiling stats up with the networking stats:

I’ve labeled the various graphs and added a graph that shows average message size over time, specifically synced with the time drift. If it proves useful I may add some indicator to the top timing graphs showing average message size. The theory being that message throughput may correlate to drops and you might like to see that.

While I was playing in the app, I’m starting to try to ‘finish’ it so that I could potentially fork it into another project to make it ES based and with more ‘game-like’ elements… one final thing was to add an in-game help menu: