When will there be a major update?

I think a mistake has been made to launch the jmonkey engine. It’s just way too early…
I mean after 6 years of developing the engine, I can’t even play back a simple animation using the pre-packaged Blender and the recommended blender2ogre plugin.
The whole thing is only like 1000 MB to download…

If you’re lucky all you get is a ninja to go with the engine and even thats all screwed up, cause the Blender file for the ninja isn’t available so I can’t even fix that myself even if I had any modelling skills.

Thankfully im just a simple fucking programmer, cause I was about to jump from the roof and slid my throat halfway down after hitting so many issues with your Animation examples, Shaders, PointLights, LightScatter classes and .scene importing. Even simple .obj files seem to be a tough thing to digest for the jmonkey product. Let alone playing back new animations doesn’t even work at all.

Thats, If you manage to get the packaged toy ninja to not burry itself into the ground with a ChaseCamera every time the model pivots…

too buggy at least
way too early for launch

I didn’t try the examples for the ninja when I was new to Jmonkey about a year ago, but I did have some success using and learning from the animations with this model
“Models/Oto/Oto.mesh.xml”
https://jmonkeyengine.github.io/wiki/jme3/beginner/beginner-animation.png

I also spent quite a long period of time lurking the forums and reading all of the beginner (and a few of the key advanced tutorials), over and over, prior to trying to work with any examples or even downloading the engine. Then by the time I finally downloaded the engine and started working with examples I didn’t feel quite as lost or frustrated when I ran into difficulties. Maybe you could benefit from taking things slower.