Which IDE do you use for developing game with JMonkey?

• JMonkeyEngine SDK
  • Netbeans
  • Eclipse
  • Intellij IDEA

0 voters

None of the above.

1 Like

@pspeed so wich IDE

I use a programmer’s editor and the command line… gradle is my build tool.

3 Likes

You… scare me some days.

1 Like

With IDEs, I feel like I’m typing at a delay. Intelli-J is pretty good but as a synth/piano player, that delay really annoys me. So I find a programmer’s editor with lots of editing features I like then alt-tab to the command line:
gradle run
…see my lovely output, etc…
alt-tab back to the editor and go.

4 Likes

Huh. So which programmer’s editor do you use? Just googling that term throws an interesting flurry of results on up there.

For legacy reasons, the one I gravitate back to is MED.

I don’t know if he still develops it anymore but I’ve been using some version of it since I was an OS/2 developer.

There are many many good ones, though. I think a co-worker uses SlickEdit but I’ve never tried it. I used to keep a half-dozen in mind in case I ever couldn’t get MED working anymore for some reason but now they all slip my mind. LOL.

Edit: and by the way, even though I often install them, I don’t use JEdit or any of the Java text editors as a “daily driver” for the same reason I shun IDEs.

Edit 2: oooh, yeah… Sublime is another one I’ve heard good things about. This article might be useful to someone:

3 Likes

Hmm From that list I’ve used Notepad++ and Atom. I kinda like Atom but you really do need to know a few hotkeys to use it effectively and sometimes they’re not that obvious. I may have to give your way a whirl someday.

sometimes intellij, sometimes a text editor… I started using Kate because it comes with kde and has so many features I like.

I’m not a Microsoft fanboy, however I suggest taking a look to Visual Studio Code. It is a surprisingly strong competitor to Sublime.

4 Likes

I don’t want to download 17GB IDE it’s super heavy